Perspective is Everything and Nothing

The older we get, the more likely it is that we will become stuck in a rut of seeing from one perspective.  This is not necessarily a bad thing, if it means we are using past, proven methods to solve recurring or similar problems to those we’ve successfully solved before (or, have failed miserably at with past attempts, so that we know to try a new method).

In a conversation with my six-year-old nephew, I jokingly mentioned that I had to share my apartment with various bugs.  I said I didn’t mind, as long as they lived in the cracks where I couldn’t see them.

His response?

“Auntie, the bugs can’t share their apartment with you ’cause you’re too big.”

When a child yanks you out of your self-centric perspective, rejoice at this brief glimpse at life from another perspective.

Leave a Reply

